An Obsession Gone Too Far (A Lamont C Blog Post)

 

The 2014 college football season ended last night with a crowning of Ohio State as the champs. Congrats.

NFL season is winding down with Seattle v Green Bay and New England v Indianapolis happening this coming weekend in the NFC and AFC Championship games.

Maybe it’s the area of the country I live in (D.C.), but with the Dallas Cowboys losing this past weekend, it seems like the amount of trash talking that went on over social media was at an all-time high!

I have no problem with rooting and/or jeering these teams, and yeah I understand “the refs suck”, but some people go too far. Like the people who ruined this referees life.

Lesson from A Bronx Tale

Have you ever seen A Bronx Tale?

It’s an awesome movie!

I mention it here because there is one scene when the main character, Calogero, was talking with Sonny about the New York Yankees losing in the World Series. The conversation went like this:

Sonny: So you must be pretty upset after the Yankees lost?

Calogero: Bill Mazeroski, I hate him. He made Mickey Mantle cry. The papers said the Mick cried. 

Sonny: Mickey Mantle? That’s what you’re upset about? Mantle makes $100,000 a year. How much does your father make? If your dad ever can’t pay the rent and needs money, go ask Mickey Mantle. See what happens. Mickey Mantle don’t care about you. Why care about him? 

Calogero: [narrating] After that, I never felt the same way about the Yankees.

That scene pretty much changed my perspective on sports as a fan. I had to question myself on why I was “living and dying” on if my favorite sports team won or lost that week. They didn’t give a shit about my ups and downs. Or whether I was living like a prince or a pauper.

But far too many people take sports far too seriously.

Don’t get me wrong, I still love sports. I still ride with my teams (N.Y. ’til I die). But you won’t catch me rubbing it in someone’s face because my favorite team beat his this weekend. I don’t even care when someone decides to gloat by posting some silly comment on my Facebook page. It’s all fun and games to me.

But that just me.

You see people getting into bar fights (like this senseless one) over sports. People assaulting, and killing, each other (like this woman here). People getting depressed when their favorite team loses the ‘big game’ (which is common, see here). That’s an obsession that’s gone too far.

Come on people, really!!? Sacrificing your physical and/or mental well being is not worth it.  And neither is sacrificing anyone else’s for the sake a sports team that doesn’t know you exist and won’t bail your dumb ass out of jail because you upheld their team colors.

I’m not saying to root for the home team, but what I am saying is don’t be a dick about it.

 

 

Published by

lamontclark

Son, Husband, Father, Brother. Used to be a fighter, now I guess I'm a just a Lover. Jack of a FEW trades....Master one some. Come fly with me!

Leave a Reply

